Skip to content
Not on the App Store yet.Get early access
Copiara

Shopify B2B credit limits

Credit limits for Shopify B2B, explained

Shopify B2B gives you payment terms and vaulted cards but no credit limit setting, so a credit limit on Shopify means an app, or a check you run yourself, that compares what a buying company owes with the limit you set. Credit limit apps on the Shopify App Store do this, and the seven we read on October 22, 2026 differ on what counts as exposure, whether they block or warn, and where the check runs. Copiara, our app, is in early access and adds a credit limit per buying company with live exposure.

Copiara is in early access. It is not on the Shopify App Store yet, so nobody can install it today. Facts on this page checked October 22, 2026.

What does native Shopify B2B give you for credit?

Shopify gives you the terms and some tools to collect, and leaves the limit to you. This is what Shopify's own pages say, read on October 22, 2026.

  • Payment terms: Net 7, 15, 30, 45, 60 or 90, or due on fulfillment, set per company location, per company or in bulk. A fixed due date works on an individual draft order, not on a location. Shopify B2B runs on the Basic, Grow, Advanced and Plus plans. (payment terms, B2B plan features)
  • No automatic capture: Shopify's payment terms page says payments are not captured automatically when terms expire. The order shows as overdue and the buyer can still pay. (payment terms)
  • Vaulted cards: a B2B buyer can save a card per company location, and vaulting needs Shopify Payments. (credit card vaulting)
  • A Flow action to collect: since June 17, 2026 the Shopify Flow action 'Charge vaulted payment for B2B order' can charge a vaulted card, or debit a vaulted bank account when you and the buyer are in the United States, once a payment schedule comes due. You build the workflow, and it needs Shopify Payments. (changelog, Flow action)
  • No credit limit: the B2B features-by-plan page lists net terms, vaulted cards, deposits on Plus and draft orders, and no credit limit. The Admin API's CompanyLocation object (version 2026-10) carries payment terms and a draft-for-review flag, and no credit limit field. (plan features, CompanyLocation)
  • Order review: set a company location to 'Submit all orders as drafts for review' and every order from it waits as a draft for your team. It is all or nothing for that location. For review by order value or cart contents, Shopify points to a Payment Customization Function. (checkout settings)

What is a credit limit and an exposure check?

A credit limit is the most a buying company may owe you at one time. Exposure is what it owes or has committed to now, and available credit is the limit minus exposure. An exposure check compares a new order with the available credit before the order goes in.

The hard part is deciding what counts as exposure. Unpaid invoices are the obvious answer, but an order exists before an invoice does, and a buyer can submit several orders before any of them is invoiced.

Illustrative figures, not from a real account. A bearings distributor gives a plant maintenance buyer a $25,000 limit on Net 30. The buyer's position:

  • Placed in Shopify and still unpaid: $14,200.
  • Waiting on the buyer's own approver: $6,800.
  • Approved but not yet placed: $2,500.
  • Exposure is $23,500, so available credit is $1,500.

What happens when a $4,100 order comes in?

The same buyer now submits a $4,100 order for pillow block units. Against the full picture it takes exposure to $27,600, which is $2,600 over the limit, so the check should warn or stop it.

A check that counts just the $14,200 of unpaid placed orders would see $10,800 of room and let it through. That is why the question to settle with any credit limit app is what it counts.

Which Shopify apps set credit limits?

These seven apps describe credit limits in their own Shopify App Store listings, read on October 22, 2026. Ratings, review counts and prices move, so check the listing before you decide. For a feature-by-feature view, see the credit limit app comparison.

Shopify credit limit apps, from their own App Store listings, October 22, 2026
App (developer)What the listing says it enforcesShopify Plus required?Starting price (USD a month)Rating (reviews)
Upro B2B Credit Limit (Monk Commerce)Limits by company, customer or location, with order restrictions or due warnings at checkout when a limit is exceeded, and a financial ledger in customer accounts.No. Prices are set by Shopify plan, from Basic to Plus.30, on the Basic plan5.0 (23 reviews)
Quay: B2B Credit Limits (Simple Business)Suggests a limit and policy per company from order history. Over the limit, a buyer orders without net terms or is blocked. Overdue accounts lose net terms, then checkout is held.No. The listing says it works on every plan.39, for up to 25 companies5.0 (3 reviews)
Net Terms Tracker: B2B Credit (HJBCodeForge)Per-customer credit limits enforced at checkout. Net terms are hidden for customers who are overdue or over their limit.No. The listing says any Shopify plan.Free for 5 net terms customers, 29 for unlimitedNo reviews yet
Creditio: B2B Credit Control (Talivio Technology)A limit per company. Block checkout, or on the higher plan hold over-limit orders as drafts for staff approval or require upfront payment.Not stated39No reviews yet
Extend B2B Credit Limits (Codup)Limits at company and location level, plus purchase limits for individual users. Block orders or show a warning at checkout.Not stated79No reviews yet
CreditGuard: B2B Credit Limits (Ceyone)Limits per company location. Real-time validation at checkout blocks B2B orders over the limit. The higher plan adds Shopify Flow and automatic suspension of overdue locations.The entry plan is marked Shopify Plus exclusive. The higher plan does not say.49No reviews yet
CreditCap: B2B Credit Limits (Alpha Edge)Limits per company location. Blocks orders over the available credit and can block overdue accounts. Tracks unpaid balances.Not stated5.99No reviews yet

Rows run from most to fewest reviews. 'Not stated' means the listing text does not say. Several of these listings are new, and no reviews yet says nothing about quality. Upro carries a Built for Shopify badge on its listing. Quay, Creditio and CreditGuard also list follow-up for overdue accounts, such as holds or reminders.

What should you ask a credit limit app vendor?

The listings read alike, so the answers to these questions are what separate the apps.

  • What counts as exposure? Unpaid placed orders alone, or also orders waiting for approval and approved orders not yet placed? None of the seven listings says whether an order waiting in an approval step counts.
  • Is the limit set per company, per company location, or per user?
  • Does it block or warn, and where does the check run: inside Shopify's checkout, when a buyer submits an order in the app, or on a dashboard?
  • What happens to an over-limit order: refused, held as a draft for your team, or taken with payment upfront?
  • Who can override a block, and is the override recorded? Quay's listing, for one, says it sends an alert when staff bypass a block.
  • How does credit free up when a buyer pays? Reading Shopify's own payment status is easier to trust than a second set of books.
  • Which Shopify plan does it need, and does the price depend on your Shopify plan or on the number of companies?

Where does Copiara fit?

Copiara is our app, so weigh this entry accordingly. It is in early access: it is not on the Shopify App Store yet, nobody can install it today, and it has no customers.

In the Copiara admin the merchant sets a credit limit for each buying company. Exposure is live and counts orders in approval, approved, or placed and not yet paid. For an order placed in Shopify, the amount counted is what Shopify says is still owed, so a paid order frees the credit. One store-wide setting chooses whether an order that would go over the limit goes through with a warning or is refused when the buyer submits it.

Copiara reads each location's Shopify payment terms and shows them beside credit. It never sets, pushes or syncs them, so terms stay in Shopify.

Copiara checks credit when a buyer submits an order in Copiara, the same moment its approvals run, so a buyer learns about the limit before anything is placed. If what you mainly want is aging reports and reminders for late payers, Creditio and CreditGuard list them, while Copiara reads payment status back from Shopify and does not issue invoices or send payment reminders.

Copiara suits distributors and brands on Shopify that negotiate prices, need sign-off inside the buying company, and sell on credit. The published plans are Free, then $59 and $129 a month with a 14-day trial on the paid ones, billed through Shopify App Pricing, with the same toolkit on every plan. Nobody can subscribe yet.

FAQ

Does Shopify B2B have a credit limit setting?
No. Shopify B2B has payment terms, vaulted cards and order review, but its B2B help pages and its Admin API list no credit limit (checked October 22, 2026). Adding one takes an app or a check you run by hand.
Do you need Shopify Plus for a credit limit app?
It depends on the app. Quay and Net Terms Tracker say they work on any plan, Upro prices by Shopify plan from Basic, CreditGuard marks its entry plan Shopify Plus exclusive, and three listings do not say. Shopify B2B itself runs on Basic, Grow, Advanced and Plus.
Can Shopify charge a buyer automatically when net terms come due?
Not by default. Payments are not captured automatically when terms expire. Since June 17, 2026 you can build a Shopify Flow workflow with the 'Charge vaulted payment for B2B order' action, which needs Shopify Payments and a vaulted payment method.
What is credit exposure?
Exposure is the amount a buying company owes you or has committed to now. In Copiara it counts orders in approval, approved, or placed and not yet paid, using what Shopify reports as still owed on placed orders. Other apps count different things, so ask each vendor.
Does Copiara set payment terms?
No. Copiara reads each location's payment terms from Shopify and shows them next to credit and orders. It never sets, pushes or syncs terms. You set them in Shopify.
Can I use Copiara's credit limits today?
Not yet. Copiara is in early access and not on the Shopify App Store. You can join the early access list or read how credit works in Copiara.

Get on the early access list.

Tell us what you sell wholesale and how your buyers order today. We will tell you which parts of Copiara would earn their place on your store, and let you know when it is listed.